The Innovation Helix

The Innovation Helix explains how to sustainably improve the innovation capability of organisations.

It integrates numerous tools for systematic innovation management, which transform a firm’s creative resources into competitive products, services and business models. The tools gain their power from systematic linking of the three core dimensions of successful innovation that are used to responsibly safeguard the future fitness of the business.

Strategy

How do we position ourselves in a digitally linked, global economy? How do we gather our strengths and offer direction, to overcome the inertia of already proven solutions?

Design

How do we arrange creative resources in order to escape the narrow focus of optimization? How do we gain impetus and diversity to live up to the 24/7 standard of a digital economy?

Added Value

How do we render great ideas into market-ready solutions? And how would we use our own organisation to create added value for our customers and to make excellent returns in doing so?

Leadership

How do we empower our people and leaders to promote self-renewal of the company and to implement the necessary changes professionally?

Strategy

It is imperative to keep an eye on technologies, competitors, market movements, client needs and trends in order to turn existing core competencies into new competitive advantages.

The risks associated with such change need to be calibrated in a manageable manner so that one can react responsibly. The systematic engagement with relevant disruptions in one’s own environment is the essential foundation of productive and targeted innovating.

Systematic solutions are available for the following phase typical innovation issues:

  • Too much product focus
  • Waste of resources
  • Decisions driven by intuition only
  • Missing alignment
  • Addiction to analysis
  • Inward-looking orientation
  • Aimless activism

Design

On-going optimization of existing problem solutions is insufficient to compete in the globally inter-connected market environment. Increasingly solutions are required that are not based on past recipes for success.

Creativity (thinking in alternatives, rapid testing a rough draft) is key. An open mind-set is not prevalent in the day-to-day operations of a business, nor is the purposeful harnessing of this valuable resource.

Systematic solutions are available for the following phase typical innovation issues:

  • Lack of variety
  • Long-winded planning processes
  • Deficient customer orientation
  • Unclear USP
  • Standard specification requirements
  • Arrogance of the powerful
  • Culture of fear

Added Value

As crucial as new ideas for products, services and business model might be, they remain mere variations of the possible, unless they are incorporated d into existing routines and value creation chains of an organisation. “Real artists ship.” (Steve Jobs)

Every significant innovation disrupts the “immune system” of an organisation. A professional implementation architecture is required to mobilise the firm’s resources to favour new ideas. In this way it is ensured that profitable value creation and corresponding competitive advantages follow good ideas.

Systematic solutions are available for the following phase typical innovation issues:

  • Open / hidden opposition
  • Missing communication strategy
  • Cloudy goals
  • Inadequate resources
  • Opacity
  • Missing master plan
  • In-fighting

Leadership

Management’s role is not so much being the creative, operational or strategic spearhead of innovation management, but rather to link and coordinate key players in the various phases of the process. Because added tensions are a regular feature of the innovation process, tactful moderation and, if needs be, clear decisions are required, to prevent blockages.

The tension caused by conservation and change, means that good leadership must focus on the sustainability of the whole enterprise, instead of departmental interests. Good leadership encourages and fosters innovations within the existing organisational structures.

© Copyright 2016 - The Innovation Helix GmbH

Die Innovation Helix

Die Innovationshelix ist eine Gebrauchsweisung für die nachhaltige Steigerung der Innovationsfähigkeit von Organisationen.

Sie integriert eine Vielzahl erprobter Werkzeuge zu einem systematischen Innovationsmanagement, mit dem aus den kreativen Ressourcen jedes Unternehmens wettbewerbsfähige Produkte, Dienstleitungen und Geschäftsmodelle werden. Ihre Kraft gewinnt sie aus der systematischen Verknüpfung der drei zentralen Dimensionen erfolgreichen Innovierens, mit der eine verantwortungsvolle Führung die Zukunftsfähigkeit der eigenen Organisation sicherstellt.

Strategie

Wie positionieren wir uns in einer digital vernetzten, globalen Wirtschaft? Wie bündeln wir unsere Kräfte, und schaffen damit Orientierung, um die Schwerkraft der eingespielten Verhältnisse zu überwinden?

Design

Wie organisieren wir unsere kreativen Ressourcen, um dem Tunnelblick der Optimierung zu entkommen? Wie gewinnen wir an Tempo und Vielfalt, um dem 24/7 Anspruch einer digitalen Wirtschaft gerecht zu werden?

Wertschöpfung

Wie machen wir aus guten Ideen marktreife Lösungen? Und wie nutzen wir die eigene Organisation, um Mehrwert für unsere Kunden zu erzeugen und damit dann auch gutes Geld zu verdienen?

Führung

Wie ermöglichen wir es unseren Führungskräften, die Selbsterneuerung ihres Unternehmens voranzutreiben und die dafür notwendigen Veränderungen professionell umzusetzen?

Strategie

Es gilt, neue Technologien, Wettbewerber, Marktveränderungen, Kundenbedürfnisse und Trends im Blick zu behalten, um so die bestehenden Kernkompetenzen kontinuierlich in neue Wettbewerbsvorteile zu verwandeln.

Um verantwortungsvoll handeln zu können müssen die damit stets verbundenen Risiken auf ein handhabbares Maß gebracht werden. Dabei gilt: Die systematische Beschäftigung mit relevanten Störungen im eigenen Umfeld ist die Grundlage für ein erfolgreiches und zielgerichtetes Innovieren.

Systematische Lösungen für folgende, phasentypische Innovations-Probleme:

  • Zu starker Produktfokus
  • Ressourcenverschwendung
  • Bauchgefühlentscheidungen
  • Fehlende Ausrichtung
  • Analysesucht
  • Binnenorientierung
  • Selbstvergessenheit & Betriebsblindheit
  • Veraltete Strukturen
  • Aktionismus

Design

Die kontinuierliche Optimierung bestehender Problemlösungen allein reicht heute nicht mehr aus, um sich in einem global vernetzten Marktumfeld erfolgreich zu behaupten. Dabei sind die Probleme von heute die Märkte von morgen. Immer häufiger werden dafür jedoch Lösungen verlangt, die nichts mehr mit den Erfolgsrezepten der Vergangenheit zu tun haben.

Kreativität ist hier der Schlüssel zu allem Neuen. Das Denken in Möglichkeiten, ein schnelles Ausprobieren, die flüchtige Skizze: all dies setzt Freiräume voraus, die sich in den Alltagsroutinen von Organisationen nur schwer behaupten können. Um so wichtiger ist daher der gezielte Umgang mit dieser wertvollen Ressource.

Systematische Lösungen für folgende, phasentypische Innovations-Probleme:

  • Fehlende Vielfalt
  • Langwierige Planungs-Prozesse
  • Mangelnde Kundenorientierung
  • Unklarer USP
  • Starre Hierarchien
  • Normauflagen
  • Arroganz der Mächtigen
  • Angstkultur

Wertschöpfung

So wichtig neue Ideen für die eigenen Produkte, Services & Geschäftsmodelle auch sind: sie bleiben Spielarten des Möglichen, wenn sie nicht in die bestehenden Routinen und Wertschöpfungsprozesse einer Organisation rückübersetzt werden. „Real artists ship“ (Steve Jobs). Dies ist jedoch leichter gesagt als getan.

Jede ernstgemeinte Neuerung reizt das Immunsystem einer Organisation. Um die Kräfte des Unternehmens für das Neue zu mobilisieren, bedarf es einer professionellen Umsetzungsarchitektur. Nur so wird sichergestellt, dass aus guten Ideen auch eine profitable Wertschöpfungen und damit entsprechende Wettbewerbsvorteile entstehen.

Systematische Lösungen für folgende, phasentypische Innovations-Probleme:

  • Offener / verdeckter Widerstand
  • Fehlende Kommunikations-Strategie
  • Unklare Ziele
  • Unzureichende Ressourcen
  • Intransparenz
  • Interessenskonflikte
  • Fehlender Masterplan
  • Machtkämpfe

Führung

Die Aufgabe der Führung besteht weniger darin, die kreative, operative oder strategische Speerspitze des Innovationsmanagements zu sein. Ihre Rolle ist vielmehr die Verknüpfung und Koordination der Schlüsselspieler in den unterschiedlichen Phasen des Geschehens. Konflikte sind hier an der Tagesordnung – sie sind auf eine kluge Moderation und ggf. auch klare Entscheidungen angewiesen, um nicht zur Blockade zu werden.

Im Spannungsfeld von Bewahren und Verändern hat gute Führung über die Eigeninteressen von Bereichen und Zuständigkeiten hinweg die Zukunftsfähigkeit des Gesamtunternehmens im Blick. Sie sorgt dafür, dass Innovationen eine Chance habe, sich im Alltagsgeschäft zu behaupten.

© Copyright 2016 - The Innovation Helix GmbH