Corporate Innovations

Following widespread technological changes in mechanisation, automation and digitisation, our economy now faces the challenge of a further revolution. The catchword “industry 4.0” refers to the intelligent networking of all elements of economic value creation chains. The new goal is maximum flexibility of optimal standard procedures (so-called mass customization) using real-time data and self-configuring manufacturing and production systems. There is no longer a contradiction between cost effective mass production and catering for individual customer requirements. Smart management of large quantities of data from different sources, and data driven innovation become key winning factors in the global contest.

Quintessential challenges

Larger corporations are under pressure to innovate because of the production of highly personalised goods and services even for a single order. These circumstances call for a systematic engagement with customers, a prompt, flexible reaction to their needs, and a cross-linked interaction between internal or external partners/stakeholders in the value creation chain. Up to now, future success factors such as flexibility and outward looking networking beyond departmental boundaries have not been the focus of large corporations. The new success factors are a significant challenge a for large firms and their capacity to adapt and renew will be an important determinant to their future success.

Usual Questions

Problem

Solution

Transformation Speed

All too often internal politics and rigid corporate structures lead to multiple innovation initiatives. No matter how great the planning, implementation of new ideas is slowed down time and again notwithstanding extensive planning because innovations are considered to be threats to the business rather than opportunities.

Rapid Innovation

The Innovation Helix makes use of a modifiable conversion architecture to turn a good idea into a competitive innovation. The master story generator is core to preparing the entire business for planned changes. The prefab set of communication guidelines anchors the systematic preparation and briefing of senior leaders and, in turn, the successful of conversion of ideas into innovations.

Silo Mentality

Innovations are still frequently considered to be the resort of in-house research & development, but such a perspective on technology leadership is simply out-dated given digitization and insufficient to be globally competitive.

Innovations Piano

More frequently, new services and related business models emerge from improved interplay between different departments and company sectors or silo’s. The Innovation Piano assists firms to use their existing core competencies to breach internal silo’s in order to realise their innovation potential and foster new products and services development and new collaborations.

Decision Bottleneck

Highly fragmented markets, individualized mass production, ever unpredictable customers: In a digitally inter-linked market, uncertainty regarding sound (investment) decisions increases. The result is business’ distinct preference of the security of its existing offerings to entrepreneurial activities.

Risk Modelling

The Innovation Portfolio, which involves systematic analysis and modelling of a range of risk categories, actively manages the risks associated with strategic innovation decisions, particularly those in respect of innovation projects involving firm external partners. The transparent and active management of the various projects within the framework of the Innovation Portfolio spreads the risk of the ventures.

The Innovation Helix – a comprehensive system for successful innovating

From innovation to innovation capability:

Enterprises only have a sustainable edge over their competitors if they grow their own innovation culture. In those circumstances, the development of new products, services and business models will follow naturally and improve the competiveness of the business.

© Copyright 2016 - The Innovation Helix GmbH

Innovationen in Konzernen

Nach den großen technologischen Umwälzungen der Mechanisierung, Automatisierung und Digitalisierung steht unsere Wirtschaft vor den Herausforderungen einer vierten Revolution. Das Stichwort „Industrie 4.0“ verweist auf die intelligente Vernetzung aller Elemente industrieller Wertschöpfungsketten. Das Ziel ist eine maximale Flexibilisierung aller optimierten Standardprozesse (sog. mass customization) auf der Grundlage von Echtzeitdaten und sich selbst konfigurierenden Fertigungssystemen. (Kosteneffiziente) Massenproduktion und ein individuelles Eingehen auf Kundenwünsche sind damit kein Widerspruch mehr. Die Grundlage hierfür liefert ein intelligenter Umgang mit einer Fülle von Daten aus unterschiedlichsten Quellen. Datengetriebene Innovationen werden so zum Erfolgsfaktor in einem zunehmend global ausgetragenen Wettbewerb.

Die typischen Herausforderungen

Die Produktion dieser hochgradig personalisierten Güter und Dienstleistungen bis hin zu Losgröße 1 setzt gerade Großkonzerne unter einen hohen Innovationsdruck. Sie erfordern nicht nur eine systematische Beschäftigung mit den eigenen Kunden und das rasche und flexible Eingehen auf deren Wünsche, sondern ein hochgradig vernetztes Zusammenspiel aller an der Wertschöpfung beteiligten internen wie externen Leistungspartner. Flexibilität, Außenorientierung und eine Vernetzung über bestehende Bereichs- und Abteilungsgrenzen hinweg: diese zukünftigen Erfolgsfaktoren gehörten zumindest bislang nicht zu den Stärken großer Konzerne. Hier ist in den nächsten Jahren mit deutlichen Veränderungen zu rechnen. Gerade die großen Unternehmen stehen damit vor immensen Herausforderungen. Allein ihre Fähigkeit zur Selbsterneuerung entscheidet über den zukünftigen Erfolg.

Klassische Fragestellungen

Problem

Lösung

Umsetzungsgeschwindigkeit

Zu oft scheitern Innovationen an internen Strukturen und Machtspielen, die in ein Nebeneinander verschiedener Initiativen münden. Trotz guter Planung wird so die Umsetzung neuer Ideen immer wieder ausgebremst. Innovationen werden nicht als Chance, sondern als Bedrohung wahrgenommen.

Rapid Innovation

Damit aus einer guten Idee auch eine erfolgreiche Innovation wird, arbeitet die Innovation Helix mit einer modifizierbaren Umsetzungsarchitektur. Ein wichtiger Bestandteil ist dabei der Masterstory-Generator, mit dem das gesamte Unternehmen auf die geplanten Veränderungen vorbereitet wird. Ein vorgefertigtes Set von Kommunikations-Guidelines sichert die systematische Vorbereitung der Führungsmannschaft und damit den Erfolg der Umsetzung.

Silomentalität

Bis heute werden Innovationen in Großunternehmen oft einzig und allein in der eigenen F&E Abteilung verortet. Durch die voranschreitende Digitalisierung reicht diese Form der Technologieführerschaft jedoch nicht mehr aus, um sich im globalen Wettbewerb zu behaupten.

Innovationspiano

Neue Dienstleistungen und dazugehörige Geschäftsmodelle entstehen immer häufiger im Zusammenspiel unterschiedlicher Abteilungen und Unternehmensbereiche. Das Innovationspiano hilft Unternehmen, aus bestehenden Silos auszubrechen und neue Wege sowohl in der Entwicklung neuer Angebote als auch der dazu notwendigen Zusammenarbeit auszuloten. Auf der Grundlage der vorhandenen Kernkompetenzen entdeckt das Unternehmen sein Innovationspotential.

Entscheidungsstau

Hochgradig fragmentierte Märkte, individualisierte Massenproduktion, unberechenbare Kunden: In einer digital vernetzten Welt wächst die Unsicherheit, die richtigen (Investitions-) Entscheidungen für neue Angebote zu treffen. Die Folge: eine ausgeprägte Absicherungsmentalität verdrängt das unternehmerische Handeln.

Risikomodellierung

Durch die systematische Analyse und Modellierung unterschiedlicher Risikokategorien wird die prinzipielle Unsicherheit von strategischen Innovationsentscheidungen besser beherrschbar. Dies gilt vor allem für Projekte, die in einem Netzwerk mit externen Partnern durchgeführt werden. Statt dabei alles auf eine Karte zu setzen, werden unterschiedlich riskante Projekte im Rahmen eines transparenten Innovationsportfolios aktiv gemanaged.

Die Innovation Helix – ein Komplettsystem für erfolgreiches Innovieren

Von der Innovation zur Innovationsfähigkeit:

So wichtig die Arbeit an den klassischen Stolpersteinen von Innovationsprozessen auch ist – einen nachhaltigen Wettbewerbsvorteil haben Unternehmen erst dann, wenn sie sich mit dem Aufbau ihrer eigenen Innovationskultur beschäftigen.

Erst damit wird die Entwicklung neuer Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Geschäftsmodelle zu einem selbstverständlichen Bestandteil der Arbeit an der eigenen Zukunftsfähigkeit.

© Copyright 2016 - The Innovation Helix GmbH